Olympic Movement Part 5

Olympic Movement Part 5


Olympic Movement Part 5, Easy Language. In this part we will learn about International Olympic Committee and Indian Olympic Committee. Olympic Movement Part 5 Olympic Movement Part 5


1. The International Olympic Committee (IOC) is the governing body of the modern Olympic Games. 
2. It is committed to support and promote participation in sports throughout the world.
3. The International Olympic Committee has its headquarters in Lausanne, Switzerland.
4. It was created by Pierre Baron de Coubertin on 23 June 1894.
5. Greek Demitrios Vikelas was its first president. Its membership consists of 105 active members and 32 honorary members. Olympic Movement Part 5
7. The IOC organises the modern Olympic Games held in summer and winter, every four years.
8. Until 1992, both Summer and Winter Olympic Games were held in the same year.
9. After that the IOC changed the Winter Olympic Games to the even years between summer games, to help space the planning of the two events two years apart from one another

Members of the Committee(IOC)

1. President(1):

2. The president of the IOC is elected by its members.

3. The president is elected for a term of eight years.

4. After the expiry of his term, he/she can be re-elected.

5. The current IOC president is Thomas Bach



1. four vice-presidents are elected.

2. These officials are also elected by members of the committee.

3. They are elected for a term of four years.

4. They can be reappointed if members of the committee desire so.


Executive Board(10):

1. The IOC Executive Board consists of the president, four vice-presidents and ten other members.

2. All the members of the IOC Executive Board are elected by the IOC session (all the members of IOC from various countries) in a secret ballot, by a majority of vote cast.

3. The IOC executive board assumes the general overall responsibility for the administration of the IOC and the management of its affairs.

Main Functions of the IOC :The IOC performs a number of functions which are described below.
1. The place where the Olympics will be organised is decided by this committee. The right to decide the days on which the games will be held also rests with this committee.
2. For conducting the competition and general programmes for the Olympics, fundamental rules and regulations are set up by this committee.
3. It also encourages and supports the promotion of ethics in sports as well as education of youth through sports.
4. It also ensures the regular conduct of the Olympic games.
5. It takes action in order to strengthen the unity and to protect the independence of the Olympic movement.
6. It takes action in order to strengthen the unity and to protect the independence of the Olympic movement.
7. It encourages and supports the promotion of women in sports at all levels.
8. It leads the fight against doping in sports
9. It encourages the development of sports for all.
10. It opposes any political or commercial abuse of sports and athletes.


1. Indian Olympic Association (IOA) was  established in 1927.
2. Sir Dorabji Jamshedji Tata and Dr Noehren became the founder President and Secretary General, respectively, of Indian Olympic  Association.
3. IOA is affiliated to the IOC.
4. Sir Dorabji Tata was also elected the first IOC member in India. In 1928, Sir Dorabji Jamshedji Tata resigned from the post of President of IOA.
5. After that, Maharaja Bhupinder Singh became the President of IOA
6. In the Olympic Games of 1928 which were held in  Amsterdam, the Indian hockey team was sent to  Olympics and won a gold medal in first time participation.
7. The election of the office bearers of the IOA is held after every four years.
8. The council consists of various members like

1 President,

9 Vice-Presidents,

6 Joint Secretaries,

1 Secretary General,

1 Honorary,

1 Treasurer,

7 representatives of state Olympic associations and

12 representatives of national sports federations or associations

The objectives of IOA are mentioned below

1. Development and promotion of the Olympic movement.
2. Enforcement of all rules and regulations of the IOC and IOA.
3. To be the official organisation in complete form and responsible for of all the matters related to Olympic event.
4. Promotion and encouragement of the physical, moral and cultural education of the young people of the nation so that their character can be developed.
5. Admitting the membership of the state Olympic Association and national sports federation for which submission of their annual reports and audited statement of accounts is necessary. 
6. To undertake with assistance of national sports federations the financial management, transportation, maintenance and welfare of teams from India taking part in the Olympic Games and other games which are organised under the patronage of IOC.
7. To take disciplinary action against any federation for misbehaviour or any other undesirable activity bringing discredit to the country.
8. In cooperation with the national sports federation/associations, organise and control selection, training, coaching of the teams that will represent India.
9. To enforce and defend the exclusive rights of the Association to use the Olympic flag and Olympic insignia.

To learn its other parts click below

Part 1               Part 2                 Part 3                       Part 4                       



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *