Yoga notes XI

Yoga notes XI


Meaning of Yoga – Yoga is derived from a Sanskrit word ‘Yuj’ which means to join or unite.

  • It is also called as union of the individual soul with the absolute soul or drive soul.
  • Yoga is the ‘unification of atma with Parmatma’.

Importance of Yoga

1. Physical Purity – In this our internal organ are cleared by various yogic exercise.

  • We require 3 element to balance to remain healthy these substance are vaat, pill and kaph.
  • To make our internal organ in clear state we require Shatkasmas for cleanliness and purity our body.
  • Shatkarmas consist of Neti, Dhouti, Nauli, Basti and Kapalabhati.
2. Prevention and care from variou Disease:-

  • Various yogic exercises increase the immunity power.
  • The person who perform yogic exercise daily that person cannot fall prey to disease.
  • Yogic exercises that only protect us from various disease but also cure them.
  • Example – Vajrasana helps in controlling diabetes.
3. Reduces Mental Tensions –

  • Pratyahar, Dharna and Dhyan has a important role for restoring peace of mind.
  • Shavasan, Suptasan are very good in releasing stress and tension.
4. Healthy Body

  • Yogic asans help us to remain at a great distance from health problems and make us fit.
  • Yogic Yoga also make us strong, Flexible and energetic.
5. Provide relaxation – Relaxation helps to remove fatique.

  • At certain point our body gets so tired after that our body cannot work further at that relaxation is needed.
  • Relaxation kill fatique and recreate our energy.
6. Maintains the correct body posture

  • Incorrect body posture takes lots of extra energy instead of correct body posture.
  • Vajrasana, Chakrasana, Dhanurasan etc are not only preventive asan but also corrective asan also.
7. Yoga can be performed easily

  • Yogic exercise doesn’t require any large space or lots of time.
  • These exercise does not require big expenses.
  • Not require any equipments.
  • Does not require any high level technique.
8. Spiritual Development

  • Padmasan and Sidhasana are the best asans for spiritual development.
  • Above asans enhance medication power.
  • Pranayan is useful Yogic Kriya that brings peace in life by attaining a good level in spiritual development.
9. Increase Flexibility

  • Various asan yoga are helpful in increasing flexibility of body. Ex – Chakrasana, Halasan.
  • Muscles become flexible if they perform asans.
  • Which makes movement of body efficient and graceful.
10. Reduce obesity

  • While performing asans and pranayam lot of calorie are burn in this.
  • Due to burn of calorie there is no collection of calorie which further convert into fat which make a person obese.
11. Improve Health

  • Yoga protect and heal our all systems that is excretory, respiratory, circulatory etc.
  • It also make us healthy by making our body fit & active all the time.
12. Elements of Yoga

  • It is described by Patanjali, eight elements of Yoga in Yogsutras.
  • Also called as eight fold paths or eight steps through which ultimate goal of Yoga can be achieved.
13. Yama

  • This is first element of Astagna Yoga.
  • By practice it a person can remain away from voilence.

Further there are 5 moral codes of conduct.

1. Ahinsa or Non-V

  • It means not to harm any human or any organism.
  • We must remain away from negative emotions that is Anxiety, Jealous, Anger etc.
  • We must have only positive emotions like love, affection and regard for humans and living organism.
2. Satya or Truthfulness

  • We must not tell lie to anyone.
  • Remain at a distance from falseness.
  • Not to speak to others in a unrespectful or rude manner.
  • always speak truth.
3. Asteya –

  • Means not to steal any thing.
  • Not to thought about stealing.
  • Do not motivate others to steal.
  • Always remain satisfy what you have.
4. Brahmacharya

  • Not to take diet that stimulate sexual desire.
  • Stay away from pornographic material.
  • Do not indulge in sexual relations.
5. Aparigraha

  • Not to collect money and property for self desire or self interest.
  • Aparigraha means to lead a life with minimum.
  • Not to consider anything to be our own.
6. Niyama

  • Related to individual sense and body.
  • You must practice niyams like you practice Yomas.
  • Saucha, Santosh, Tapa, Swadhyaya Ishwar Parnidhana.
7. Saucha

  • It means purity.
  • Purity means clean physically and mentally.
  • For purity of internal organs we have Shudhi Kriyas or Shatkarmas which consist of Neti Kapalbhati, dhouti Kriyas etc.
8. Santosh

  • Santosh means Satisfaction.
  • We must satisfy whatever God has given to us.
  • Not to run behind desires.
9. Tapa

  • To overcome obstacles, complex situations and resistance in the way of going and achieving the desired goal.
10. Swadhyaya

  • To study the great Gita, Vedas, Grantha with devotion is called as swadhyaya.
  • First type of study is to read these great books and second type of study is known as study of self.
11. Ishwara Prinidhyana

  • To dedicate all the deeds to God is called Ishwara.
  • In this a person or a true devotee thinks whatever prosperity he got by the manner of name, fame, position power, respect all is achieved by him due to God’s Grace.
  • He/she surrenders theirself to God and remove all negative things from his/her like ego, jeabusy  etc.
12. Asan

  • It means ‘position or posture of body’.
  • Asans are performed to keep body flexible, young and agile.
  • It improves  body fitness by removing extra fat from our body.
  • Corrective, relaxative and and cultural Asan are the types of it.
  • Can be practice from young to old without any problem.
13. Pranayama.

  • It is the control of the process of breathing.
  • Means control over inhalation and exhalation.
  • Pranayama consist of three things i.e. Purak [ Inhalation], Kumbhaka [Retaining the breath] and Rechaka[Exhalation].
  • Ujjayi, Sheetkari, Sheetali, Bhastrika are types of Pranayama.
14. Pratyahara

  • It is self control in which an individual is able to exercise control over her/his senses.
  • We can also say that to control the mind and senses is called Pratyahara.
  • Senses will not respond to external things that hinder mental concentration.
  • Some of senses are words, beauty, touch taste etc.
15. Dharna

  • It is concentration of mind.
  • Our mind is scattered into multiple things, dharna set it to one focal point.
  • Facal point can be in the centre of the forehead or naval.
  • This (dharna) is first step towards Samadhi.
  • It is a mental exercise which enables a yogi to go ahead towards dhyana and samadhi.
16. Dhyana

  • Process of complete constancy of mind.
  • prior stage to samadhi.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *